November 2, 2012

  • ...desire...

    i want to move downtown.  my condo is finally finished.  i can move in in march.  the issue is...is it worth it?  I make a gross income of 1900....net income makes it about 1700.  after osap, i have about 1400.  100 for savings, 200 for food, 200 for gas....that leaves 900.  minus 200 for bills.  that leaves 700.  so....that means i can only pay my parents a total of 700 to live in the condo they bought for me. 

    now, the question is whether it is worth living downtown while working in the suburbs.  and the answer is a clear resounding NO.  sigh.  I'll be driving an extra 10km.  meaning i'll ahve to maintain my car more frequently.  i won't have savings for anything, ie: future wedding, house downpayment or anything for that matter.  

    so what do i do?  living at home may drive me up the wall....but so will living on my own when i'm living over my means.  

    I could find a job downtown....but can i find a job that pays more than my current job?  what field should I look into?  sigh.  THIS stuff stresses me out.  I wish I had someone to talk to about this stuff.  

    as much as I want to live downtown in the condo my parents bought for me, it is clear to me that I cannot live there on my own.  

    this really makes for a very VERY sad sabina....sigh.... me a sad panda now....time for bed, working ubber early.  sigh.  night night.

Comments (2)

  • I was in the same spot a few years ago when I was obsessed with moving downtown.
    Needed a change, and had a lot of social commitments downtown (I was volunteering, taking class, and clubbing - so I needed to drive into the city about 5 times a week).

    Tried it for a year - and for me it wasn't worth the cost of living downtown. Had the option to move back in with my parents (not the most fun - but financially worth it).

    Not an easy decision. Good luck!

  • @juggernaut_headbutt - I guess the issue for me is because my parents actually bought this condo intending for me to move into it during my second year of university. Unfortunately, like all condo developments, it was SUPER delayed (by about 4 years).

    Also, since I've now seen it...I can't stop thinking how nice it would be to live on my own. hehehe. But the 700 for rent is basically going into my future. I'll have to discuss and debate this some more.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment