October 4, 2012

  • …getting an mba…

    If you don’t know what MBA stands for, it means Master of Business Administration.  Yes, the title is vague, but you can specialize in different fields.  I’m not really interested in business.  However, I am only interested because people have suggested I should try to go for it.  The bf would have more luck applying for such a program than me.  But I wonder if he’s ever thought about it.

    It’s easy for people to tell me to go get an MBA.  What most people don’t realize is that the entrance to ANY MBA course is strict for someone who is NOT a business major.  In fact, having a social work specialty makes it REALLY hard.  Especially since I studied a form of “radical” social work framework, any area of study in business is like the complete opposite of what my social work education has taught me…or so my education would have me believe.  

    For mature students, some MBA programs require you be in a management position for at least 8 years before applying.  And how long would it take me to GET to that management position? 

    I have my undergrad and that’s 1 pre-requisite to any master’s program.  I have a 3.43 average meaning I had about mid 80′s scores.  So if admittance was based solely on this, I may have a chance….but competition is high.

    Not only that, I’d have to take my GMAT….a General Management Admissions Test.  Wonder how long it would take me to study for that.  Tests have never really scared me.  I figured I study as hard as I can, go in and answer what I can.  The score doesn’t matter.  However to enter to any MBA program, the score does matter.  

    For something I have the least bit of interest, is it worth putting in so much effort?  I almost don’t think it’s worth it.  Actually, I’m pretty sure it’s NOT worth it for me to even bother.  I am not driven and motivated to even apply.  so…I’m not.  

    I’m actually rather interested in taking other things, like event planning or something else like that.  We’ll see….

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *