October 15, 2012

  • …pop it…

    I have a big blister on my leg.  I recently burnt myself due to spilling a cup of tea.  Yes, it WAS a scalding cup of tea as I had JUST finished boiling the water.  Needless to say, the pain is quite surprising.  However, I feel as if it doesn’t hurt as much as it should.  It’s a second degree superficial burn.  It shouldn’t be all that bad.  

    I was told not to pop the blister.  As much as seeing the bubble makes me want to pop it, I know I shouldn’t for many reasons.

    Sure, most people say it’ll heal faster if I just popped it.  The thing is

    1) the chance of infection is much higher if you manually pop it
    2) it is going to be more painful if you pop the blister (why?  because the blister is your body’s way to tell you NOT to touch it.  It is your body’s natural mechanism acting like a cotton pad or gauze)
    3) the scarring would be much worse if you popped the blister because you would be agitating the already irritated burnt area.

    So, due to all this, I WILL NOT pop the ugly blister even though the ointment leaks through my pants and makes washing a total hastle.  

    generally, my blisters pop on their own.  at this point though, I think I’m waiting for the skin to reabsorb the stupid fluid….  I’m just afraid that it’ll still be infected.  I’m pretty prone to getting infections over tiny little cuts….  all the cleaning and stuff.  boo…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *