July 2, 2013

  • …cold calling…

    i think cold calling is one of those things that everyone dreads.  Even doing a “cold email” can be something of a nightmare.  I absolutely abhor doing cold calls, but I’m slowly getting more and more accustomed to it.  why should I be afraid?  I’m a personable individual.  Plus, I really want the job and KNOW I can do it.  So what have I got to lose?  My dignity/pride?  Most people don’t just get handed jobs.  So it’s all going to be okay.  It’ll all work out in the end.  Mind you, I’ve only conducted 2 this time around for my job search.  The last time I did about 10….and most likely come off as sounding either arrogant or a complete idiot (or somewhere in between, who knows?)  

    this time around, I’ve written myself a script for all the different people I may encounter while trying to reach the person i really want to talk to (someone in charge of hiring for so and so department).  I even wrote a short little message for the times I may get an answering machine.  I get antsy on the phone.  It’s one of my worst qualities.  Hence, this is why I write myself a script for a basis of what I want to say.  

    Maybe I’m dreaming big when I hope with all my energy to get into a big immigration settlement agency.  But hey, if I don’t dream big, where will I end up?  I refuse to be part of the generation that can’t get good paying jobs or at least a job that I went to school for!  I refuse! I refuse! I refuse!

    As long as I can control my nerves, I’ll be able to think about what I say and be the person they want to see (at least for the interview).  The problem is being given an opportunity.  What if I seem unappealing on paper?  How do I make myself look better?  There are tips and tricks, but I always think I don’t look like me on paper.  

    Anyways, time to get ready for a few dozen more cold calls to agencies that I have to google first>.<

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *